Central Pine Barrens Advisory Committee
as of December 2011.
(See the unofficial copy of ECL 57-0119(9) for the creation of the Advisory Committee. See bylaws: text, pdf.)
The law specifies 24 member organizations by name,
and permits the Committee to add up to four additional organizations,
for a maximum of 28 member organizations.
The entities listed below are all named explicitly in the law,
except those annotated as "Added by Advisory Committee in __")
(See these links for the specific individuals who represent these organizations: text, pdf.)
Bylaws of the Committee (established by resolution): text, pdf



  • Association for a Better Long Island 
  • Brookhaven National Laboratory (added by the Advisory Committee in 1993)
  • Civic Representative for Brookhaven Town 
  • Civic Representative for Riverhead Town 
  • Civic Representative for Southampton Town 
  • Eastern Suffolk Board of Realtors (no longer in existence; no apparent successor in interest) 
  • Environmental Defense Fund
  • Group for the East End (originally the "Group for the South Fork" in the law)
  • Hamptons' Visitors Council (originally the "South Fork Promotion Committee" in the law)
  • Long Island Association 
  • Long Island Board of Realtors 
  • Long Island Builders Institute
  • Long Island Drinking Water Coalition (added by the Advisory Committee in 2005)
  • Long Island Farm Bureau 
  • Long Island Greenbelt Trail Conference
  • Long Island Pine Barrens Society 
  • Long Island Regional Planning Council (originally the "Long Island Regional Planning Board" in the law)
  • Legislative Commission On Water Resource Needs of NYS and LI (Assembly) 
  • Legislative Committee On Water Resource Needs of NYS and LI (Senate) 
  • North Fork Environmental Council 
  • Open Space Council 
  • Peconic Land Trust (added by the Advisory Committee in 2004)
  • Regional Plan Association
  • Southampton Business Alliance 
  • State University of New York at Stony Brook 
  • Suffolk Alliance of Sportsmen, Inc. (added by the Advisory Committee in 1993)
  • Suffolk County Water Authority 
  • The Nature Conservancy
  • Chairs Chair:                  Mr. Jeffrey Szabo, Chief Executive Officer, Suffolk County Water Authority 
    Vice Chair:          Mr. Richard L. Amper, Executive Director, Long Island Pine Barrens Society 
    Original Chair:    Mr. Michael A. LoGrande, AICP, current Chairman and former CEO, Suffolk County Water Authority (1993 - 2001)
    Past Chair:          Mr. Stephen M. Jones, AICP, Chief Executive Officer, Suffolk County Water Authority (2001 - 2010)
    Meetings are held as needed, with the locations determined at those times. 
    See the current schedule for the next meeting.  See this link for meeting minutes.
    Prior Member Organizations
  • South Fork Groundwater Task Force (Added by the Advisory Committee in 1999.  Resigned from Committee in 2004.)